EPS wins SEAI Leadership Award

EPS Group was named as this year’s overall winner of the Sustainable Energy Awards 2015 for having co-ordinated several community outreach projects around the country.  Its efforts saw 81 community and voluntary groups including addiction centres, sheltered housing, sports clubs and schools benefit from almost €2million in funding for energy saving projects which in turn have resulted in a saving of 26,000 tonnes of carbon.  EPS had stiff competition for the award from AIB, UCC, Coillte, Applegreen, Tipperary Energy Agency and Largo.

L to R: Declan O’Riordan, Energy Manager EPS,  Julie O’Neill, Chairperson of the Board, SEAI, Patrick Buckley, Deputy Managing Director EPS, Alex White TD, Minister for Communications, Energy & Natural Resources and Michael Deane, Energy Officer EPS

Presented by the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI) and sponsored by Electric Ireland and Enprova, the Awards recognise excellence in energy in businesses, communities and public sector organisations.  Innovation is at the heart of the competition, with this year’s entries including a wide range of new and exciting solutions across a broad spectrum of sectors including agriculture, marine, hospitality and pharma all of which have reduced their CO2 emissions and energy costs.

Winning this prestigious award is a great honour for all associated with the energy activities within EPS. Our energy journey continues to be an outstanding success in delivering sustained savings not only for companies but for voluntary organisations and communities nationwide. I would like to thank all who supported us especially SEAI for driving the government’s agenda on energy efficiency

It was very satisfying for me personally as Energy Officer for the group, to collaborate with so many excellent voluntary groups throughout Ireland who are doing great work on behalf of their stakeholders.

The sustainable energy activities we are recognising through these awards are making an important contribution to our economic recovery. While energy demand will increase to supply Ireland’s growing economic activity, the industry has worked hard to break the rigid ‘one-to-one’ link between increased economic output and increased energy demand. Our energy is now delivered and utilised much more efficiently and intelligently than in the past. The Sustainable Energy Awards winners and finalists demonstrate the benefits to our society of making our homes and businesses more comfortable and cheaper to run, while also benefitting the environment.

In a unique and first of its kind collaboration and partnership between EPS and SEAI, groups from counties Cork, Limerick, Kerry and Laois as well as businesses in Waterford, Mayo, Laois and Limerick will benefit from grants totalling €1.93m. The collaboration is funded by SEAI through the Better Energy Communities Programme. Groups to benefit as part of the EPS led collaboration include the following:-

Co Laois

  • Cuan Bhride Community Centre, Rathdowney
  • 29 Sheltered Houses at Cuan Bhride, Rathdowney
  • Rathdowney Community Centre
  • Church of Ireland (St. Andrews Parochial Hall) & Church
  • Marian Centre
  • Scoil Bhride (National School), Rathdowney
  • Old Convent School, Rathdowney
  • Priest House, Rathdowney
  • Clover United Soccer Club
  • Errill Primary School
  • Errill Community Hall

Co Cork

  • Banteer Community Centre, Banteer
  • Banteer Sportsfield Club House, Banteer
  • The Glen Theatre, Banteer
  • Banteer Childcare, Banteer
  • Banteer National School
  • Banteer Community Centre
  • Knocknagree Community Centre, Knocknagree
  • Kilcorney Community Centre, Kilcorney
  • Scoil Mhuire, Kanturk
  • Lismire GAA Hall, Lismire
  • Millstreet Community School, Millstreet
  • Boherbue National School
  • Boherbue Comprehensive School, Boherbue
  • Scoil Mhuire Kanturk
  • 24 St. Vincent de Paul Residential units; Clonakilty
  • Churchtown National School
  • Liscarroll National School
  • Freemount Heritage Centre
  • Freemount Community Centre
  • Clonakilty Parish Centre
  • Baltimore Community Swimming Pool
  • Clonakilty Community Hall
  • Clonakilty Meals on Wheels
  • Model Railway Village; Clonakilty
  • St. Joseph’s Girls National School; Clonakilty
  • Scoil Na Buachailli; Clonakilty
  • Baltimore Community Centre
  • Mitchelstown Town Hall
  • Mitchelstown Enterprise Centre
  • Araglin Community Centre

Co Limerick

  • Askeaton Community Centre
  • St. Senan’s National School, Foynes
  • Foynes Yacht Club
  • Foynes Community Centre

Co Kerry

  • Marian House, Rathmore
  • Scoil Phobail Sliabh Luachra, Rathmore
  • Aras Padraig Complex; Killarney
  • The Old Monastery; Port Road, Killarney

This innovative collaboration will lead to a total CO² reduction of  911,284 Kg CO².  The pioneering collaboration supported by SEAI aligns very well with the values of EPS where sustainability and support for local communities in which we operate are core to our activities.